# 2023 HOCKEY ALBERTA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING



# THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 2023 VIRTUAL VIA ZOOM

Members: Airdrie MHA, Barrhead MHA, Bow Island MHA, Brooks MHA, Cochrane MHA,

Fort Saskatchewan MHA, High Country MHA, Hockey Calgary, Hockey Edmonton, Holden MHA, Lacombe MHA, Maskwacis MHA, New Sarepta MHA, Pincher Creek MHA, Plamondon MHA, Red Deer MHA, Sherwood Park MHA, Spruce Grove MHA, St. Albert MHA, Stony Plain MHA, Sturgeon Hockey Club, Thorsby MHA,

Wainwright MHA, Westlock MHA, Wetaskiwin MHA

Board Members: Len Samletzki, Allan Mowbray, François Gagnon, Al-Amin Vira, Kirsten Jewell,

Karen Lee, Bill Gourley, Michael Bates, Danielle Paradis

**Voting Scrutineer:** Jason Robinson (Sport Law & Strategy Group)

**Recording Secretary:** Katrina Papke

### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER – L. Samletzki

L. Samletzki called the meeting to order at 7:13PM on Thursday, November 30, 2023, welcoming everyone to the 116<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM).

- L. Samletzki introduced Jason Robinson from the Sport Law & Strategy Group as the voting scrutineer for today's meeting. Jason Robinson will be acting as our voting administrator and all voting will take place on the online voting platform Simply Voting, which has been used in previous AGM's. J. Robinson will also assist the Chair and the members in following the identified parliamentary procedure, which is Robert's Rules of Order.
- L. Samletzki noted that today's video meeting is being recorded and that any member who does not wish to be on the recording may choose to leave the meeting at their discretion.

### 2.0 ROLL CALL OF VOTING DELEGATES

- L. Samletzki called upon K. Macrae to provide a report on voting members in attendance.
- K. Macrae displayed a listing of the registered voting delegates in attendance, showing the weighted votes of each member. It was reported that 25 Minor Hockey Associations are in attendance to vote, for a total of 25 voting delegates and 347 total votes present.
- L. Samletzki stated that as per Section 4.6 of the Hockey Alberta Bylaws, twenty (20) Members in good standing and deemed eligible to vote shall form a quorum at any General Meeting and hereby declares that there is a quorum, and this meeting of the Hockey Alberta members is in session.

# 2023 HOCKEY ALBERTA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING



## THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 2023 VIRTUAL VIA ZOOM

### 3.0 PRESENTATION OF THE 2022 AGM MINUTES

The Minutes of the 2022 AGM have been circulated to each registered member prior to this meeting. L. Samletzki asked the membership if there are any corrections to the minutes. No errors or omissions declared; thus, the Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting are approved.

### 4.0 REPORTING OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The 2022-2023 Audited Financial Statements have been circulated to each registered member in advance of this AGM. A more detailed report on finances will be provided during the organizational update portion of today's meeting upon adjournment of the AGM.

L. Samletzki shared the process that Hockey Alberta uses in preparing its finances. There is an Audit & Risk Committee comprised of three Board members who work with management to ensure policies are in place and process is followed.

Hockey Alberta's 2022-2023 Audit was completed by RSM Canada. RSM met with the Audit & Risk Committee to review the detailed statements. Hockey Alberta had a clean audit with no significant concerns or risks identified.

L. Samletzki requested it be noted in the minutes that the members have received the 2023 Audited Financial Statements.

#### 5.0 APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDITOR

L. Samletzki indicated that the Board, with management, identified members prior to the meeting to move and second each motion to make the proceedings more efficient.

### **Moved by: Hockey Calgary**

Seconded by: Wetaskiwin MHA

That the firm of RSM Canada of Red Deer be appointed as the Hockey Alberta Auditors for the 2023-2024 fiscal year.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

#### 6.0 ELECTIONS

L. Samletzki stated there are three (3) Director positions open for election this year. Each position will serve a 3-year term. Members can refer to the Meeting Package for the detailed Nominations Report.

Please note the following terms remaining for Board members:

- Kirstan Jewell, Director, has 1 year to serve.
- Karen Lee, Director, has 1 year to serve.
- Bill Gourley, Director, has 1 year to serve.
- Danielle Paradis, Director, has 2 years to serve.

# 2023 HOCKEY ALBERTA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING



## THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 2023 VIRTUAL VIA ZOOM

- Allan Mowbray, Director, has 2 years to serve.
- Len Samletzki, Chair of the Board, has 2 years to serve.

The Board has brought forward for election, Al-Amin Vira, Francois Gagnon, and Michael Bates. No other candidates are seeking election for these positions.

## Moved by: Cochrane MHA Seconded by: Holden MHA

To approve the election of Al-Amin Vira, François Gagnon, and Michael Bates as Directors of Hockey Alberta Board of Directors.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 7.0 <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

L. Samletzki acknowledged and thanked J. Robinson from the Sport Law & Strategy Group for their support in setting up and operating this meeting as well as acting as the Voting Administrator and Scrutineer. L. Samletzki asked J. Robinson to destroy all the voting ballots.

As we have concluded all matters of business on the agenda, L. Samletzki declared that the 116<sup>th</sup> Hockey Alberta Annual Meeting is adjourned.

The meeting is adjourned at 7:36pm.